METRO Houston Welcomes Diverse New Board Members

METRO Houston Welcomes Diverse New Board Members
Photo courtesy of City of Houston

he Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County (METRO Houston) announced today the appointment of its newest members, following approval during this morning’s Houston City Council meeting. Mayor John Whitmire’s appointments mark a significant milestone, with a historic number of women now serving on the board.

The newly appointed members include Judge Kathy Han, who becomes the first Vietnamese American woman to hold a full-time presiding judge position in Houston, TX. Also joining the board is Reverend T. Leon Preston II, Senior Pastor of Yale Street Baptist and Law Enforcement Chaplain for the Harris County Constables Office. Additionally, Chad McMillan, a prominent community advocate for inclusivity initiatives and empowerment of Houston’s disabled population, has been appointed.

These appointments underscore the commitment to diversity and representation within METRO’s leadership. Earlier this year, METRO welcomed its first Hispanic female chair, Elizabeth Gonzalez Brock.

The Board of Directors plays a crucial role in guiding decision-making to enhance public transportation across the Houston region. Their vision focuses on providing customers with safe, clean, reliable, and accessible mobility options.

Terry Morales, Vice President of Amegy Bank in the Corporate Banking Division, has been reappointed to the board, ensuring continuity and expertise in its governance.

“I am proud to make history with my METRO appointees; each one represents a diverse community. Having a METRO Board with diverse representation recognizes the value of varied experiences and the importance of accessibility for all,” said Mayor Whitmire. “Now it is time to go to work. I expect METRO to operate with transparency and maintain and create additional mobility options. The board’s collective leadership will enhance METRO’s capacity to positively impact the continued growth and success of the City of Houston and region.”

The members were sworn in by METRO Chair Elizabeth Gonzalez Brock in the Proclamation Room in City Hall.

“I am excited to welcome the newest customer-centric board members and to continue collaborating with our existing leaders,” said Chair Elizabeth Gonzalez Brock. “This is a robust team that is fully committed to making METRO a safe, clean, accessible and viable option that people choose to use.”

The nine-person board has five positions nominated by the mayor of Houston and approved by Houston City Council, , two appointees of Harris County Commissioners Court, and two appointed by the mayors from 14 other cities in the METRO service area (METRO Multi-Cities). Board members serve two-year terms with METRO and can serve a maximum of eight years.

For more information on METRO and its leadership team, please visit