Plano TX Police Chief Drain Among Four New CALEA Commissioners Appointed

Plano TX Police Chief Drain Among Four New CALEA Commissioners Appointed
Plano Chief of Police Ed Drain

The Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc. (CALEA®), the Gold Standard in Public Safety, is pleased to announce the appointment of four new Commissioners. They are Chief Matthew Benson, Cumberland (RI) Police Department, Chief Ed Drain, Plano (TX) Police Department, Chief Estella Patterson, Raleigh (NC) Police Department, and John Lumpkins, Jr., Esq. Goochland County (VA) Board of Supervisors.

Additionally, five current CALEA Commissioners have been reappointed.

Ed Drain has led the Plano (TX) Police Department as chief of police since 2020. Prior to this appointment, he was chief of the Amarillo (TX) Police Department. With 29 years of public safety experience in Texas, he has served in many capacities and has received executive and leadership training, including the FBI National Academy. Chief Drain served in the United States Army on active duty and as a reserve officer for over 24 years as an Explosive Ordnance Disposal Officer and received several awards and decorations. In 2007, he retired as a lieutenant colonel. Chief Drain holds a Bachelor of Science from the University of Texas at Arlington, and a Master of Business Administration from Amberton University.

The knowledge and experience these Commissioners bring to CALEA ensures the organization continues to meet its mission of promoting professionalism within the field of public safety.

About CALEA®

The organization was created in 1979 as a credentialing authority through the joint efforts of law enforcement’s major executive associations: International Association of Chiefs of Police; National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives; National Sheriff’s Association; and the Police Executive Research Forum.

The purpose of CALEA’s programs is to improve the delivery of public safety services, primarily by: maintaining a body of standards, developed by public safety practitioners, covering a wide range of contemporary public safety topics and responsibilities; establishing and administering an accreditation process; and recognizing professional excellence.